2017 Elgin Awards

I’m honored to announce that the Science Fiction Poetry Association (SFPA) has chosen yours truly to chair the 2017 Elgin Awards, presented annually for speculative poetry chapbooks and books published in the preceding two years. The Elgin Awards are named for Suzette Haden Elgin, who founded the SFPA in 1978.

Nominations can only be made by SFPA members; however, authors of nominated works need not be members. If you are not a member of the SFPA but know of a worthy book or chapbook that should be nominated for an Elgin Award, please let a member know about the book! Or better yet, join — SFPA membership is only $15 annually! The deadline to nominate is May 15.

Speculative poetry is defined as having elements of science-fiction, fantasy, horror, or any of the myriad of subgenres.

For more information about this, and other general SFPA information, please visit the website at www.sfpoetry.com.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to 2017 Elgin Awards

  1. johnnyreinhart says:

    That’s awesome. I won’t have anything eligible this year, but it was an honor to read through everyone’s work last year, and I look forward to doing it again this year.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s